Page header image for Kingsthorpe Indoor Bowling Club detailing new brand colours

Central Avenue, Whitehills, Northampton NN2 8DZ

Tel: 01604 842931

2023 Winners Kingsthorpe Bowling Club

Outdoor County Top Club News

2023 Ladies County Top Club Winners

2023 Ladies Top Club winners, Kingsthorpe Bowling Club

30/07/2023 – On a very damp, miserable day with strong winds and persistent rain for July, the final of the Northamptonshire Women’s County Top Club was played between Wellingborough and Kingsthorpe Bowls Clubs.

The competition for the Ladies consists of Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours. There is no progression to the national championships for this competition.

The final of this competition, which is traditionally held at the home club of the County President, was therefore played at Wellingborough this year.

Billie Swift got the team off to a tremendous start with a convincing win in the singles. This was Billie’s 6th game of the weekend, showing what stamina she has for playing!

The other disciplines supported her with a win in the pairs for Sandra Mawson and Pat Bodily, The 4s of Maggie Edwards, Dawn Rolfe, Hilary Sharpe and Sharon Tansley suffered a narrow defeat by 1 shot after a great comeback. With cumulative shots in hand, the KBC Triples of Celia Morris, Nicky Hardy and Yvonne McKee did not need to play their last end as Wellingborough conceded the game.

The Top Club Trophy was presented to Maggie Edwards, Kingsthorpe Bowling Club Captain, by Ladies County President, Jan Hunt.

Congratulations to the squad on a great result.

2023 Mens County Top Club Winners

2023 Winners Kingsthorpe Bowling Club
2023 Top Club Winners Kingsthorpe Bowling Club

Runners up. CORBY Forest.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

2022 Mens County Top Club Winners

Image of Kingsthorpe Bowling Club team who won the inaugural Northamptonshire County Top Club Competition played at Abington Bowling Club in 2022

17/09/2022 – On a sunny, breezy Saturday morning the final of the Northamptonshire Men’s County Top Club, one of the new county domestic competitions, was played between Abington and Kingsthorpe Bowling Clubs.

The competition is run on the same basis as the national one with five disciplines, 2-Wood Singles, 4-Wood Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours, the only difference being that the overall winners do not progress to the national championships.

The final was played at Abington Bowling Club due to them being in the top half of the draw, a fitting and exciting reward for the host club which has been celebrating its centenary in 2022. Abington’s Pete Milburn, the County Men’s President was, unfortunately, unable to attend the presentation.

The match started in Kingsthorpe’s favour with a comfortable win (21-12) for Jason Bryan in the 2-Wood singles against Adam Brown and after a slow start the Kingsthorpe Triple of Denis Hardy, Geoff Hayter and Andrew Manton won five of the last six ends, to turn a losing position around and record the win against Terry Brown, Simon Coles and John Freeman. Abington levelled the overall match with wins in the pairs, Dave Jones and Jonathan Brown forcing Mick Spears and Neil McKee of Kingsthorpe to concede with ends to spare and the Kingsthorpe four of Matt Care, Ivan Wilson, Pete Morris and Roger Tansley losing by fours shots (19-23) to Alan Coleman, Phil Reeve, Tom Manderson and Tony O’Leary which tied the overall match.

With the scores at 2-2, the 4-Wood singles were proving to be a topsy-turvy game with Kingsthorpe’s Vernon Gearey trailing 10-4 to Abington’s Robin Adams before turning the game round to lead 17-12. Robin wasn’t giving up that easily as he fought back to 19-19 with one end to play.

A nervous time for everyone who was watching and with nerves jangling Vernon trailed the jack and sat close with his third bowl. Robin failed to make a difference with his last woods and Kingthorpe claimed the 21-19 victory to win the overall match 3-2.

The new trophy was presented by Kevin Mawson, County Competition Secretary for Men and Mixed competitions, to Kingsthorpe Bowling Clubs Saturday Captain, Chic Eichmann

Travelling Reserves for Kingsthorpe were Mick Taylor and Mac Sibley – who had played in previous rounds